Steve’ Blog

Parkinson’s-CrossFit-FoxWod-CrossFit Allied.

Loneliness, depression and isolation

I retired, due to Parkinson’s disease, from my job in August 2017, after serving as a priest in the Church of England for 22yrs. The church had been my community for all those years, and it was quite a shock to my system to retire. I went from seeing people every day to barely seeing another person for weeks on end. I didn’t see much of my wife either as she had launched a business with our son, Adam, at Alton Towers.

I began to become a bit of a hermit and sometimes didn’t change out of my pyjamas for the day, thinking to myself, what’s the point of getting dressed as I’m not going anywhere. I had no transport, and the bus service in Caverswall is almost nonexistent. Each day I felt more and more isolated and began to withdraw into myself and felt lonely, depressed and isolated.

Community-Endorphins-Togetherness

I’ve suffered from depression for many years, but it has been worse since I was diagnosed with Parkinson’s. The lack of Dopamine released in my body affects not only my movement but my ability to enjoy life. Things that used to be enjoyable are now an effort to do. It is hard to be motivated to live life to the full. It also causes me to become anxious about things. I have to try not to overthink everything and practice self-compassion.

CrossFit Intense Exercise

Since coming to CrossFit Allied in January, I’ve discovered the reason for my improvements both in body and mind. All the research points to the intensity of the CrossFit WODS that releases dopamine in my brain. I’m not the only one experiencing the intensity of the exercises as everyone is usually on the floor breathing heavily at the end of every session.

FoxWod Partner WOD

It was great fun to be able to participate in the FoxWod on Saturday 27th April, raising money for such a good cause. On Good Friday last week, I teamed up with Rob who has an infectious sense of humour. It was the first time I have had fun exercising and the 45 minutes flew by. In the FoxWod, I teamed up with coach Helen. It was great fun again, and there was such a lovely atmosphere, with people dancing holding weights above there heads, while their partner worked hard. It was an excellent workout which strangely didn’t feel like a workout.

Crossfit as an organisation has done quite a bit to promote the benefits of intense exercise for people with Parkinson’s and other neurological conditions. “CrossFit® increases dopamine production thus improving motor as well as non-motor symptoms.  Moreover, CrossFit® is an accepting community encouraging participation and discouraging the apathy and isolation often associated with degenerative neurologic diseases.”

Crossfit Allied

I have and, am receiving so much encouragement by being part of Crossfit Allied Community, as they are a very generous, welcoming and challenging community. I’m not only benefiting physically but also mentally. I’m no longing feeling isolated and lonely, and my mood is definitely more positive.

Steve Osbourne

5 thoughts on “Parkinson’s-CrossFit-FoxWod-CrossFit Allied.”

  1. Very interesting Steve! I’m glad you’ve found improvement in your PD. I too have Parkinson’s, diagnosed some 4 or 5 years ago. Although progressing, it’s relatively mild, I think. So I am interested in ways of pushing back against further progression of the disease. I suspect a Keto diet has beneficial effects for me , together with exercise via Nordic Walking. At least it certainly worsens when I backstep and stop making the effort.

    You wrote “CrossFit® increases dopamine production”. That’s encouraging, but is there any scientific evidence for that? Can you suggest any resources I might use to research that? I live in Newcastle NSW on the east coast of Australia and don’t know whether CrossFit is available near here or it’s suitability for my level of fitness and age (currently 77).

    Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Hi Les, glad you found my blog interesting. I was officially diagnosed over 11 years ago. What helps is 15 – 20mins intense activity. It doesn’t matter what kind of exercise as long as it gets your pumping. Be nice to stay in touch and let me know how your doing. Steve💪

    Like

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.